Home » Dept » Statutory Bodies

Statutory Bodies

Council, Committees, Boards, and Commissions
Budaka district has the third District council since inception in July 2006 running from 12th May 2011 to 12th May 2016. The representation is presented in table 2.1 above. The head of the Council is the District Speaker who is elected among the District councillors. The District council has 26 members of which 15 are male councillors and 11 are female councillors.Therefore, the total comprise male, female, PWDs and Youths. There are five committees of council, each headed by the chairperson who is elected among the District councillors as per the rules of procedure of Local Government councils.

These  committees include Administration and finance Committee comprising of the following department/sectors/sections: Administration, Human Resource, Finance, Council Committees, Boards and Commission, Procurement committee, Planning unit and Internal Audit. Production and Education committe has Production and Marketing department, Natural Resources deparment and Eductaion department. Health committee has the debarment of health and lower health units. Works and Technical services Committee has works and water sectors including buildings and all other structures in the District. Community Based Services Committee has the deprtament of Community Based Services

Executive committee members
The District Executive committee is properly constituted with five members and the District chairperson (LCV Chairperson) as the head of the committee (chairperson). The number of DEC members is equal to the number of Council committees described above. Each committee has a DEC member as its secretary. There is only one female member on DEC instead of two for the requirement of at least a third of the members of DEC being female. DEC is supposed to meet at least once every month with twelve meetings in each year. DEC members receive their monthly emolument from the consolidated fund.

District Service Commission
The District Service Commission (DSC) is fully function but the membership is not complete. The DSC has three members out of five members. Budaka Town Council and the Woman representive are not represented at the DSC. It has been difficult to attract a woman representative due to minimum conditions required to serve on DSC.